Rant: The world needs all the Sookies it can get. 

I’ve often said this, and I mean it.

It’s never been my policy to discourage anyone else from choosing to tweet as Sookie Stackhouse.  I don’t own the character.  Charlaine Harris does. And HBO owns True Blood.  Since I work for neither of them, I can only say I’m humbly endorsed, but not affiliated with either.  At the end of the day, anyone with an internet connection and access to Twitter can create an account and choose to be Sookie if they want to.

I will say this, though.  If I own anything, I do own @SookieBonTemps.  And @SookieBonTemps2.  These are my accounts. I’ve been tweeting since November 30, 2008, and these accounts are easily almost 9 months old.

Who is @SookieBonTemps?  Well, I’m a fan.  I have a blog that I’ve named Being @SookieBonTemps that shares everything from fan art to quirky True Blood tchotchkes to my experience writing as this character.  In a strange turn of fate, @SookieBonTemps now hosts a radio show with @TrueBloodDallas.

In essence, being @SookieBonTemps has been a long hard road.  One that’s resulted in over 50,000 tweets in the length of time it would take a woman to carry a baby to full term.

Where am I going with this?

@SookieBonTemps is my baby.   And I do believe that I’m allowed my fair share of territorial pissings as far as the name is concerned.

Bottom line is this.  If you‘re going to choose a name that’s strikingly similar to mine, are you ready to shoulder the responsbility that comes with it?

It’s fine if you don’t like my version of the character.  Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.  You might feel that talking to all of the various Inanimate Objects that crop up on Twitter is silly, and hands, legs, or butts do not deserve a response.  That’s your prerogative.

At the end of the day, I’ll respond to almost anyone who engages me so long as I’m not bombarded.  And yes, that does include other Sookies.

I’m not blocking you, nor am I going to tell anyone to block you.  I’m not in the business of advising who people should or shouldn’t play with. I’m also not going to go into the conversation that we had in 140-character DMs.  Like I said, I’m also not in the business of airing dirty laundry.

I am, however still awaiting your response to this question?